Radiation-hard semiconductor detectors for SuperLHC

Bruzzi, M and Adey, J and Al-Ajili, A and Alexandrov, P and Alfieri, G and Allport, PP and Andreazza, A and Artuso, M and Assouak, S and Avset, BS and Barabash, L and Baranova, E and Barcz, A and Basile, A and Bates, R and Belova, N and Biagi, SF and Bilei, GM and Bisello, D and Blue, A and Blumenau, B and Boisvert, V and Bolla, G and Bondarenko, G and Borchi, E and Borrello, L and Bortoletto, D and Boscardin, M and Bosisio, L and Bowcock, TJV and Brodbeck, TJ and Broz, J and Brukhanov, A and Brzozowski, A and Buda, M and Buhmann, P and Buttar, C and Campabadal, F and Campbell, D and Candelori, A and Casse, G and Cavallini, A and Chilingarov, A and Chren, D and Cindro, V and Citterio, M and Collins, P and Coluccia, R and Contarato, D and Coutinho, J and Creanza, D and Cunningham, W and Cvetkov, V and Dalla Betta, GF and Davies, G and Dawson, I and de Boer, W and De Palma, M and Demina, R and Dervan, P and Dierlamm, A and Dittongo, S and Dobrzanski, L and Dolezal, Z and Dolgolenko, A and Eberlein, T and Eremin, V and Fall, C and Fasolo, F and Ferbel, T and Fizzotti, F and Fleta, C and Focardi, E and Forton, E and Franchenko, S and Fretwurst, E and Gamaz, F and Garcia, C and Garcia-Navarro, JE and Gaubas, E and Genest, MH and Gill, KA and Giolo, K and Glaser, M and Goessling, C and Golovine, V and Sevilla, SG and Gorelov, I and Goss, J and Gouldwell, A and Gregoire, G and Gregori, P and Grigoriev, E and Grigson, C and Grillo, A and Groza, A and Guskov, J and Haddad, L and Harkonen, J and Harding, R and Hauler, F and Hayama, S and Hoeferkamp, M and Honniger, F and Horazdovsky, T and Horisberger, R and Horn, M and Houdayer, A and Hourahine, Benjamin and Hruban, A and Hughes, G and Ilyashenko, I and Irmscher, K and Ivanov, A and Jarasiunas, K and Jin, T and Jones, BK and Jones, R and Joram, C and Jungermann, L and Kalinina, E and Kaminski, P and Karpenko, A and Karpov, A and Kazlauskiene, V and Kazukauskas, V and Khivrich, V and Khomenkov, V and Kierstead, J and Klaiber-Lodewigs, J and Kleverman, M and Klingenberg, R and Kodys, P and Kohout, Z and Korjenevski, S and Kowalik, A and Kozlowski, R and Kozodaev, M and Kramberger, G and Krasel, O and Kuznetsov, A and Kwan, S and Lagomarsino, S and Lari, T and Lassila-Perini, K and Lastovetsky, V and Latino, G and Latushkin, S and Lazanu, S and Lazanu, I and Lebel, C and Leinonen, K and Leroy, C and Li, Z and Lindstrom, G and Lindstrom, L and Linhart, V and Litovchenko, A and Litovchenko, P and Litvinov, V and Lo Giudice, A and Lozano, M and Luczynski, Z and Luukka, P and Macchiolo, A and Mainwood, A and Makarenko, LF and Mandic, I and Manfredotti, C and Garcia, SM and Marunko, S and Mathieson, K and Mozzanti, A and Melone, J and Menichelli, D and Meroni, C and Messineo, A and Miglio, S and Mikuz, M and Miyamoto, J and Moll, M and Monakhov, E and Moscatelli, F and Murin, L and Nava, F and Naoumov, D and Nossarzewska-Orlowska, E and Nummela, S and Nysten, J and Olivero, P and Oshea, V and Palviainen, T and Paolini, C and Parkes, C and Passeri, D and Pein, U and Pellegrini, G and Perera, L and Petasecca, M and Piatkowski, B and Piemonte, C and Pignatel, GU and Pinho, N and Pintilie, I and Pintilie, L and Polivtsev, L and Polozov, P and Popa, AI and Popule, J and Pospisil, S and Pucker, G and Radicci, V and Rafi, JM and Ragusa, F and Rahman, M and Rando, R and Roeder, R and Rohe, T and Ronchin, S and Rott, C and Roy, P and Roy, A and Ruzin, A and Ryazanov, A and Sadrozinski, HFW and Sakalauskas, S and Scaringella, M and Schiavulli, L and Schnetzer, S and Schumm, B and Sciortino, S and Scorzoni, A and Segneri, G and Seidel, S and Seiden, A and Sellberg, G and Sellin, P and Sentenac, D and Shipsey, I and Sicho, P and Sloan, T and Solar, M and Son, S and Sopko, B and Spencer, N and Stahl, J and Stavitski, I and Stolze, D and Stone, R and Storasta, J and Strokan, N and Strupinski, W and Sudzius, M and Surma, B and Suuronen, J and Suvorov, A and Svensson, BG and Tipton, P and Tomasek, M and Troncon, C and Tsvetkov, A and Tuominen, E and Tuovinen, E and Tuuva, T and Tylchin, M and Uebersee, H and Uher, J and Ullan, M and Vaitkus, JV and Vanni, P and Velthuis, J and Verzellesi, G and Verbitskaya, E and Vrba, V and Wagner, G and Wilhelm, I and Worm, S and Wright, V and Wunstorf, R and Zablerowski, P and Zaluzhny, A and Zavrtanik, M and Zen, M and Zhukov, V and Zorzi, N and Hourahine, Benjamin (2005) Radiation-hard semiconductor detectors for SuperLHC. Nuclear Instruments and Methods in Physics Research Section A: Accelerators, Spectrometers, Detectors and Associated Equipment, 541 (1-2). pp. 189-201. ISSN 0168-9002 (https://doi.org/10.1016/j.nima.2005.01.056)

Full text not available in this repository.Request a copy


An option of increasing the luminosity of the Large Hadron Collider (LHC) at CERN to 1035 cm−2 s−1 has been envisaged to extend the physics reach of the machine. An efficient tracking down to a few centimetres from the interaction point will be required to exploit the physics potential of the upgraded LHC. As a consequence, the semiconductor detectors close to the interaction region will receive severe doses of fast hadron irradiation and the inner tracker detectors will need to survive fast hadron fluences of up to above 1016 cm−2. The CERN-RD50 project “Development of Radiation Hard Semiconductor Devices for Very High Luminosity Colliders” has been established in 2002 to explore detector materials and technologies that will allow to operate devices up to, or beyond, this limit. The strategies followed by RD50 to enhance the radiation tolerance include the development of new or defect engineered detector materials (SiC, GaN, Czochralski and epitaxial silicon, oxygen enriched Float Zone silicon), the improvement of present detector designs and the understanding of the microscopic defects causing the degradation of the irradiated detectors. The latest advancements within the RD50 collaboration on radiation hard semiconductor detectors will be reviewed and discussed in this work.